The gala ceremony will take place on Thursday, 17 November at Madinat Jumeirah, three days before the start of the FIFA World Cup Qatar 2022. This year’s list of award categories includes the TikTok Fans’ Player of the Year award, with Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo and Mohamed Salah in the running. For Best Men’s Player of the Year and Best Women’s Player of the Year, nominees include Karim Benzema, Thibaut Courtois, Erling Haaland, Beth Mead, Lucy Bronze and Alexia Putellas. Twenty candidates are competing for the Best Men’s Club of the Year and ten for the Best Women’s Club of the Year, with almost the entire European football aristocracy represented, alongside clubs from South America and the Middle East. Legendary giants such as José Mourinho, Carlo Ancelotti and Pep Guardiola are nominated alongside Stefano Pioli in the Best Coach of the Year category. Back for another edition is the Best President of the Year category, alongside two new awards, the Power Horse Emerging Player of the Year and the CNN Off The Pitch Award. Best Sporting Director of the Year and Best Agent of the Year will award those who excel in recognising important aspects of the game, and they are joined by two new awards: Best Scout of the Year and Best Transfer Deal of the Year. As in previous editions, a number of football legends will be presented with Career Awards in recognition of their contribution to football. Read More